HomeКомпьютерные игрыRelated VideosMore From: Tarks Gauntlet

BEST JRPG IN YEARS! - Trails of Cold Steel Review

325 ratings | 20939 views
Welcome back to another deliciously bad editing job courtesy of Tarks gauntlet. Edited so badly that I spelt "Editing" wrong in the video and only notice now as I type the description. You win some, you lose some, enjoy the vid! Consider buying the game through my amazon affiliate link! PS3: https://goo.gl/GXxRvU Vita: https://goo.gl/qLFcPz https://www.patreon.com/TarksGauntlet https://discord.gg/9gpTaBA https://twitter.com/TarksGauntlet https://www.facebook.com/TarksGauntlet/ PSN: Tarks_Gauntlet Amazon Wishlist: http://a.co/9LZqTps Donations: - Cause this cancer ain't cheap! https://youtube.streamlabs.com/tarksgauntlet
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (131)
zoozbuh (4 days ago)
I haven’t been able to get into this OR Trails in the sky. Have them both downloaded on my Vita and have tried multiple times, but every time I just lose interest because they’re so damn slow-paced. I KNOW it’s the kind of game I’d love if I just stick with it (especially based on all the reviews), so I’m gonna give this one another chance at some point......
Tarks Gauntlet (4 days ago)
Almost as slow paced as this review haha. It's almost like a really meticulous chef cooking a 5 course meal, but they only cook 1 ingredient at a time and they cook it to perfection. It can be hard to appreciate what's going on until you see all the ingredients brought together as one mouth watering feast by the end.
Andrey SkyZerx (2 months ago)
Should I start this game now or wait for all 4 to be released in english?
Andrey SkyZerx (1 month ago)
ok thanks
Tarks Gauntlet (1 month ago)
I reviewed TOCS2 and towards the end of the review I state that I have no idea how the 3rd game can pick up directly where the second leaves off. TOCS2 does feel like it wraps up most active plot threads and that a 3rd game isn't necessary, but apparently TOCS3 has a lot in store for us. So I think TOCS2 has a good enough ending that you can stop there and feel satisfied.
Andrey SkyZerx (1 month ago)
That's why I'm asking. Can I be happy with ToCS 2 ending? Or is it have a massive cliffhanger?
Tarks Gauntlet (2 months ago)
Man... I'm still waiting for them to announce if the third entry is even coming over or not.
Cy RedEX (2 months ago)
This series is amazing.I cant thank you enough for this video it made me interested in the game and it was the most worthwhile purchase i have made since persona 5 and dbfz. Plz keep up the great content. thank you
Tarks Gauntlet (2 months ago)
I'm glad to hear you liked it so much!
Frit-yawf Saga (2 months ago)
Soild review mate and I agree cold steal is one of my all time favorite games, I have not played a game quite like it in a long long time... and I’ve yet to play one quite like it in to long😭 would love to see this or something like it on the switch
Tarks Gauntlet (2 months ago)
Frit-yawf Saga while not exactly "like it" ys8 is on switch witch is another franchise by the same company, so it could happen...
Frit-yawf Saga (2 months ago)
Want to play the third game in the series so bad..... sadly I don’t speak or read japanese😭😭 Was really hoping this game” or something like it” would come to the Nintendo switch......
mazrimalthor (2 months ago)
This series, along with Y's, are the 2 most criminally overlooked jrpg's ever
Tarks Gauntlet (2 months ago)
Agreed. If Falcom keeps pumping out the game though I'm certain they're going to make a huge dent in the JRPG market. People are really starting to warm up to them now.
Switch Kraft (2 months ago)
Definitely seems like it's work a pickup! Glad I stumbled across this channel on Geeks Podcast livestream. Great channel!
Xirc (2 months ago)
tfw no Jusis spamming arts on the last fight
Tarks Gauntlet (2 months ago)
I've finished parts 1 and 2. I have to wait for English translations.
Xirc (2 months ago)
Have you finished it yourself? Its pretty satisfying and heart breaking at points
Tarks Gauntlet (2 months ago)
I'm almost certain it's coming, but I really can't wait. I've heard some crazy things.
Xirc (2 months ago)
I finished the second one 2 days ago and boy am i heart broken waiting for the third one to have its localization announced
Tarks Gauntlet (2 months ago)
Thanks. This game was a whole new world to me. Wish I could have done the review now after I learned something about proper presentation, but I'm happy so many people found it and found the game through it!
Black Raven (3 months ago)
Were there actually a written exam for the 1st game I'm unsure because I played it on the PC
JB 1121433 (2 months ago)
just a bunch of question popup windows
Syuna (3 months ago)
I wouldn’t say best if u want best go to persona 5 this game is okay they have the right concept but execute it poorly with bad animation an excessive meaningless dialogue conversations that drag on to a point where the player loses interest I think that’s why ppl like myself have a hard time getting into the game.
Tarks Gauntlet (3 months ago)
Persona 5 wasn't even close to releasing when I made this video lol. I would definitely say this was the best in years however I wouldn't fault anybody for saying persona 5 was the best since this came out.
Die Hard Gamer Bros. (3 months ago)
Great game, I only have the first one and need to get part 2. Hopefully they’ll release the 3rd one sometime in the future.
Tarks Gauntlet (3 months ago)
From what I understand Part 3 is coming to PS4. No more vita releases. Part 2 should be releasing on PC soon.
SSJraditz Black (3 months ago)
Absolutely love your channel! I don't even like JRPGs. I come for the anime babes lol.
Tarks Gauntlet (3 months ago)
Anime Babes is a good reason to be here. We're in a bit of a dry spell for new releases on that front but this years got a few coming I'm really looking forward to.
Doctor Fate (4 months ago)
This game could easily go into competition with the Persona series. I would like it very much if it did. They have the potential, the background, and a good landscape to work with. The ideas are limitless.
Okaii Desu (4 months ago)
TO ALL THE TRAILS FAN let me tell you one thing - translation patch (on ppsspp )of the crossbell series exist i played them and they are better (like omg way better)than cold steel for me Ao no Kiseki is my absolute favorite rpg of all time some ppl complain about the epilogue of CS2 but it make total sense if you played the crossbell arc if you think cold steel 2 was the best sequel to a rpg , just play the crossbell arc for a lot of you the graphism will be a wall but if you can't pass that barrier you will find Zero no Kiseki a very great "trails" and i'm telling you guys the sequel is MINDBLOWING ( and the music is beyond god tier) no need to thanks me there is all the link you need -Zero no Kiseki https://www.romstation.fr/games/the-legend-of-heroes-zero-no-kiseki-r51751 (the game is already patch) -Ao No Kiseki https://gbatemp.net/threads/trails-kiseki-modding.476713/ follow all the thing on "old content" don't worry i did this and it works fine option 2 https://mega.nz/#F!epok1KTD!T3P8mwRJjGYzOlFL7LNv_g
Jackman LeBlanc (4 months ago)
Oh God the dialogue seems so cheesy anime. I love it. Kind of feel like you spoiled what the final boss looks like though. "Let's be that light!"
Psychodegu (3 months ago)
Lol and yet a lot of the normal dialogue is very realistic and well written.
Senao Monika (4 months ago)
Best Game.
Mario Styleman (4 months ago)
not a bad review but the long pauzes u take after every sentence........... 1,2,3,4,5! Gives me the creeps
Tarks Gauntlet (4 months ago)
Mario Styleman Yup haha. I have no idea where my head was at when I was filming these older videos but suffice to say the least I eventually realized the problem and fixed it. My presentations are much snappier now thank god. I can hardly watch these with their super slow pace anymore.
Shaya M. S. (6 months ago)
Nice! I enjoyed hearing your thoughts. It was a bit too spoilery for me, which is why I didn't watch most of the review until now (and why I have not watched your review on Cold Steel II yet), but I can say that we have really similar views on the game. It's GREAT to see more and more people discovering Falcom and their outstanding series'! :D There is another tale, however. Several other Trails to be represented. The Trails of two adopted siblings who live in a small peaceful house on the edge of Zemuria's beautiful kingdom, Liberl. The Trail of a bright, enthusiastic, happy-go-lucky, determined girl and a mysterious, amber-eyed, insightful, thinking, quiet boy. Along with the Trails of thousands of important, influential, complex others. These Trails...are the Trails in the Sky, and I urge you to give it a go if this is what you felt from Trails of Cold Steel. :-)
Shaya M. S. (6 months ago)
Tarks Gauntlet Hmm...I'd recommend getting it however you can. Not hard on Steam, especially with the near-constant sales on Falcom titles (I may be biased as a PC gamer). I think it would be interesting to hear your thoughts anyway, since the brilliance of the series is that all the adventures are cleverly connected by a certain society, yet they are all still very different stories with different characters. Can't deny what you're saying, though. (Vulcan) I agree Ys, particularly modern Ys, is amazing too! I'm slowly making my way through them all on Steam. Falcom really is fantastic. Don't mind my dramatic lead up in my last comment. Thanks for the quick reply! :D
Tarks Gauntlet (6 months ago)
I've been trying to find a physical copy of Trails in the sky (Which has the single greatest acronym in JRPG history) for a good year now but I never find them in the wild. Will probably end up getting them on steam eventually. When I do I doubt I'll review it cause I'd have nothing new to say about the series at this point, but I do really want to get into it.... Ys8 too. Still haven't hit that game yet. Falcom produces gold in game form haha.
TheFunnyNerd (6 months ago)
I thought this game was Great, until I played TOCS 2. Now that one is the truly amazing one, and this one became slightly less amazing all of a sudden lol. I know it's not fair, but I thought the second one was much superior to the first one, which isnt fair because when I finished the first one I was in love with it. This battle system is just perfect, and all the characters are likable, and plenty of beautiful waifus for people to fight over haha. That little twist at the end with the new combat system was also a very pleasant surprise to me. Great review man.
Tarks Gauntlet (6 months ago)
Who knows, maybe it will support vita remote play :P (But I'm not holding my breath)
TheFunnyNerd (6 months ago)
I think also because of the party system on the second one it gives you more freedom and you can actually create your most perfect party! Man can’t wait for 3 that on PS4 will be a sight to behold although I am going to miss it on handheld. I beat the second game 3 times back to back to back lol.
Tarks Gauntlet (6 months ago)
Most people are with you on that one. I think the pace of the second one definitely appeals to a larger demographic of people, but something about the leisurely pace of this one and the gradual background build of events felt so good to me. That said, it's so hard to even view them as separate games now and I can't wait for part 3!
notmy cellphone (6 months ago)
I have to agree have not seen anything this good since the original Final Fantasy series. The music is also getting better and better and trails of cold steel II was one of the top soundtracks ever.....I would rate FFVII....trails of cold steel II...then cold steel one...then xenosaga....then tales of Symphonia (from ps2) as the best ones.
notmy cellphone (6 months ago)
Thanks young man!
Tarks Gauntlet (6 months ago)
You got great taste man! Many of those are my favorites as well!
M.Aziz Pratama (7 months ago)
before play this game, do i need to play trails in the sky too ? or the story is difference ?
M.Aziz Pratama (6 months ago)
Tarks Gauntlet thx, I think im gonna buy this
Tarks Gauntlet (6 months ago)
M.Aziz Pratama No. They make occasional references to trails in the sky but nothing you really need or even worth knowing. I'd recommend playing sky after though. It's widely considered the better game. So people who move from there to here often end up with a bit of growing pains.
Charles Caulkins (7 months ago)
Personally I hated this game, and you should have started with Trails in the Sky. It was SO MUCH BETTER. Don't get me wrong, CS's graphics are amazing and the combat system is so much refined than Sky, but this is a very narrative driven game with a lot of cutscenes, and when you look back on it, the narrative and characters are bad. They're either too boring or too cliche, relying very heavily on anime stock tropes. One of my hated characters was the maid Sharon as she really got on my nerves with her lying smile, trollness, and teleporting between train stations for no reason. There IS a reason revealed at the end of this game, and I can see why some people would like her, but she felt so Sue-ish for me in the worst way possible. I almost hate her as much as Elise, Rean's sister who totally doesn't have a boner for him... gah, she was one of the worst ways to try and pull a not-related bro-sis ship tease IMHO. Again, this game is very narrative driven, and the first in a trilogy too. It all sets up the world but it was annoying to know that everything you did was basically pointless countermeasures to terrorism that still got ahead in the end. It would be nice to know what the deal with the cat was, for example, but the character that DOES know never bothers to reveal because there needs to be drama and unanswered questions for a sequel hook. That's bad story telling 101 there. A lot of other stuff was bad too, like military high school and a "sensei-chan" who shrinks off responsibility to the main protagonist who has very low self-esteem. It felt like seeing lesser versions of Taiga Fujimura and Shirou Emiya respectively. Yes, I'm gonna say it; Rean is a horrible protagonist for being so passive and boring and often the subject of "comedic" "light" scenes. And that political stuff you were talking about? It's like talking about real life politics. Sure, you can have an OPINION on something and argue for it, but most of the time you don't even do much except stall for enough time for the political figures to come in and save your ass. Some of them having connections to not only the students as family members, but also the Thors school as board of directors. I've seen better political, classism squabbles in games like Final Fantasy Tactics, and the sense of urgency in Cold Steel is understandably low because you're nothing more that teenagers in (military) high school. The game's core gameplay is fun. Some of the relationship building is fun too, if only a little pointless in the end. But the story? My god does it drag the whole experience down. I'm sorry, but again, I HATE this game.
dansegful (2 months ago)
we hate the game because it's a lazy sequel from 5 previous games that are on the same universe, so coming without knowing anything is foolish since the trilogy make references from those 5. And even if you haven't played the prequels the way the game itself is made is lame, 6/7 chapters of rinse and repeat, the 7th chapter is where the story begins. The adults in the game entrust the future of the country to some students with daddy issues and the sequel is just trying to formulize Trails in the Sky SC. The game is mediocre if compared to contemporary games like FF Type-0 that deals with the political issues way more realistic or any Tales of, the animations are lazy, they recycle most animations for many characters and they move like robots, the facial expressions are limited, and they only have 1 stand pose. This is what the leftovers from PS2 era games feel and it's sad from a company like Falcom whose 2000s games were adhoc to the era and they had more enjoyable games.
Tarks Gauntlet (7 months ago)
Charles Caulkins I'd give a longer form answer addressing your complaints and why I mostly disagree (the anime tropes is 100% accurate at least at the start) and why I found the subtle background build of events so enthralling, but I really hate typing on my phone, and I take it you probably heard enough between this video and part 2 if you watched it.
Tarks Gauntlet (7 months ago)
Charles Caulkins you know, I've never heard a negative opinion about this game that didn't also include comparisons to trails in the sky. I'm kind of glad I played this first so I could approach it without the extra baggage and expectations lol. Series so far has been amazing in my opinion (as you heard) and I'm 100% set on finishing it, then starting trails in the sky.
TCC (7 months ago)
lol 1:00
Vova Syhin (8 months ago)
You should be thanking Falcom for creating thins masterpiece and not Xseed for its distribution. Besides the games distribution would have not been possible without Falcoms' approval.
Tarks Gauntlet (8 months ago)
Oh, I'm thankful to Xseed for bringing it over as so much in the series has not made it over, but of course full credit for the masterful design goes to falcom.
Amodlol (8 months ago)
Wait so where should I start with this series
Amodlol (8 months ago)
Tarks Gauntlet Ok sweet thank you I look forward to it
Tarks Gauntlet (8 months ago)
You can't go wrong with starting at Trails of Cold Steel 1. Each series kind of has it's own title and they work independent of each other. You could also give the Trails in the Sky series a good look.
Renaissance Nerd (8 months ago)
awesome! I would have never known this game exists without this review! i have to have it!
Tarks Gauntlet (8 months ago)
Just came out on steam too!
Jacques schutte (8 months ago)
I have been looking out for a game like this since grandia 2 thnx !
DON LEGACY (10 months ago)
Cool video bro. Bought it yesterday. Digging in.
Tarks Gauntlet (10 months ago)
I hope you enjoy it! I mentioned in the video but it can be a slow burn to start but it all comes together so nicely I couldn't help but love it. And part 2 was amazing as well!
KaiSaeren (11 months ago)
I love falcom and I love trails of series, but tocs is by far the worst of the trail series imho, it brought a lot of people into the seires which im grateful for, because they get to experience the story and hopefully come back to older games, but you simply cant compare the writing of tocs with that of older games, or any other new good games for that matter. For gods sake, at one point a 15 or 16 year old girl gets lost on campus of 5 buildings, goes away from the clearly visible town to an abandoned and decrepit building, goes inside, because thats definitely going to help her get out of the campus and follows a freaking cat down an elevator with technology she never saw, only to play with huge door and try to open them... I mean WHAT THE ACTUAL FUCK, she is supposed to be a smart character, not retarded one. A character actually attending a prestigious school, there is no freaking way that any living person would actually do that, not in the way it was presented and written and it was so obnoxious and obviously done for plot to move forward, that it was shameful. There was a plethora of ways to do this better and its not the only instance. Imho all the character simply feel like robots, their actions and way of speaking is simply inhuman, or at least not reminiscent of people their age AT ALL. Dont get me wrong I finished the game and had solid 100 hours of relative fun, I will buy it again on pc to support falcom, but damn was it a dissapointment. Im curious what you thought of all those stupid moments (like the concert at the end, I mean, please, just kill me now, thats how painful and forced that was) so please answer if you read this :) Just became your 363 subscriber mate! :)
KaiSaeren (6 months ago)
I was rewatching this video and remembered how we "argued" here :D I finished tocs II not too long ago, and yea Celine sort of lured her there, but its still stupid :D In any case, Tocs II has its own really assenine moments :D What I find curious tho, after playing both of the games and seeing as there was a "war" in the second one (that has got to be the lest threatening and bloodless war ever btw). Its incredible how few people actually ever die or are seriously hurt, considering everyone fights with swords and guns :D I mean if you think about it, they jump into a group of mercenaries, fight them off and the worst that happens is they are knocked out and our heroes are sort of bend over, before they pick up and continue :D How do you even render 5 people unconscious with a gun :D
Tarks Gauntlet (11 months ago)
But she didn't only see the cat inside the building lol. They show this. She followed the cat all over campus. It's covered again pretty early in the second game but I don't remember them not showing it as bluntly in the first one. PC version is going to be way better. I agree. The visuals look quite a bit sharper and the dialogue isn't compressed up the ass. I loved playing the game on vita but it's clear the game was a bit too big for the system. There's such major slow down during the final battles in TOCS2 I don't think putting the 3rd entry on vita would have ever worked out haha. I played the Vita version of both games. I will track down physical copies of the PSP versions of Trails in the Sky. I used to see them all the time before I really knew what the series was, but finding them again now will be a little tough. Super worth it though I bet. Rean is like buttered toast haha. He is the most plain character of them all. Your standard fair for a JRPG anime game really. I do find having him a little more on the plain side helps players project themselves onto him, which strengthens the the feeling of the bonds players create with the other characters but it's very inconsistent with when he's plain and when he's not. His family relationship is complicated but his character is not I guess. I found somebody on twitter who's sharing a bunch of Xseed stuff, I assume that's you, so I added you up haha.
KaiSaeren (11 months ago)
She only saw the cat inside the building tho :D I havnt played the second, I bought the first tocs mid last year and finished it later that year, but by then it was already announced that both tocs I and II may come out on pc at some point this summer so I didnt want to buy TOCS II on ps vita, or ps 3 as on pc its going to be far superior imo. From the video they released it has more voice content and upgraded graphics, it also includes some dlcs, which is amazing. Not to mention, that having already finished the game, I will be using the crap out of cheats and trainers to just see everything ^^ You played the vita or ps3 version of tocs II? I already knew that they were assembled that way, I mean, I figured anyways, but found it incredibly convenient the first time through. For example Elliot being a son of a general was just totally out of the blue and it wasnt even necessary. But yea, it depends on viewpoint for sure :) You are trying to get physical copy of those games? Man that is going to be one hell of a hassle, the pc version doesnt have physical copies at all, it was only digital release, so your only option is psp that I believe has retail, good luck with that :O Also, what do you think about Rean? At least that you gotta give me, he is as clueless and as annoyingly stupid as any anime protagonist ever, right? :D Edited :) Also, dunno if its ok, add me on twitter, I love these conversations, but dont want to spam your comments :D If not its cool, I understand if your busy :)
Tarks Gauntlet (11 months ago)
Out of curiosity have you played TOCS2 yet? They explain pretty clearly in that one that the cat did hypnotize Elise to lure Rean to the basement and that she was never in any danger. They also explain that the class was specifically assembled because of their family to fulfill a specific role. it wasn't just happenstance or lazy writing. It was an integral part of the plot. Having said that I feel I've got too far into spoiler territory so if it's possible can you edit your first comment to just say "Spoilers" at the top? lol
Tarks Gauntlet (11 months ago)
I do believe she was lured there by the cat. Remember the cat was a source of mystery and power that the player wasn't meant to understand at that point in the game. It would have destroyed plot progression to show how she was lured, but I believe she was and against her will intentionally to get rean down there without the cat revealing her identity to him yet. It never struck me as odd or suspect at all, I think it's safe to say I saw the event in an entirel different light than you did haha. I never found it lazy the characters all knew somebody influential. For me it geniusly established the hierarchy of the land in realistic form for a prestigious school. It also gave a weight behind every event and every character and made everything feel that much more important like it had more gravity. Laura's responses like that just strike me as her being humble. I think she'd be annoying if she wasn't haha. As per mimicking persona, definitely. I think I drew allusions to that myself in the review. This game is basically anime the RPG lol. But there's such depth to each character and the world I just can't sleight it for that. And I'll definitely play trails in the sky as soon as I can track down physical copies locally. Part 3 is out now too I believe. I love the graphic style of those games.
Jonounderscoreoz (11 months ago)
Now this i 100% agree with amazing game happens to be my favorite that and 2 ha
Jonounderscoreoz (11 months ago)
Tarks Gauntlet yea haha was really awesome i had fun with thay chapter
Tarks Gauntlet (11 months ago)
Yeah, That extra chapter struck me as so odd to be honest but I still enjoyed it. I'd like to see them get more attention in Trails 3. Some nice eye candy in there too haha.
Jonounderscoreoz (11 months ago)
Tarks Gauntlet dude i feel you man the second game gave me huge feels for crow. Though seeing the cover art/title with rean standing there and a guy with silver hair . Its like dude thats crow hands down hes my fav character. The third game i have no doubt ited be amazing im glad rean for the most part is main character. What ticks me off though is i loved the extra chapter at the end of 2 where you play the main guy from the vita ones. Its like yo falcom bring those two vita ones here now lol
Tarks Gauntlet (11 months ago)
They were definitely my top JRPG's of 2016. Of all time.. They're definitely in my top 5.. Maybe even top 3. I really want to get the word out there about this series! Can't wait for part 3!
Basket Casey (1 year ago)
Holy crap! I was not expecting to hear Jaiji Tang's voice in there! That caused this game to bump up my list of "wants" significantly. Great review.
Tarks Gauntlet (1 year ago)
The character he plays is a really solid character too (But they again they all are! haha)
Basket Casey (1 year ago)
Kaiji* stupid auto correct.
ElementalHeroJoe (1 year ago)
I saw a copy of this at gamestop. Looked interesting and your review was very informative. I'm going to buy it tomorrow. Thanks! :)
Tarks Gauntlet (1 year ago)
Enjoy! Glad I could be of assistance ;)
Eric Winkle (1 year ago)
Just finished this game and yes, this game is incredible. The world and characters are fantastic. The music and overall chill vibe of this game is great too.
Tarks Gauntlet (1 year ago)
I just finished the second earlier this month. The game's got a much fast pace but it's still just as fantastic. I'll be keeping a much closer eye on Falcom from here on out I think.
supergunnerxd (1 year ago)
I found this game very fun, and I really loved Fie she was my favorite character. And the fact that you said "With one area going so far as to go all Québec, and try to separate from the rest of Erebonia." That made my day. XD
supergunnerxd (1 year ago)
That's true! I'm from Alberta, but I have friends from New Brunswick and Nova Scotia and they have a similar accent to yours so that's why I guessed east coast.
Tarks Gauntlet (1 year ago)
Oh boy, this isn't the first time I've been found out haha. East coast indeed. Nova Scotia. I always want to believe I don't have a definable accent, but I guess I do. As long as I don't go full-on newfoundland though I'll be happy.
supergunnerxd (1 year ago)
Yeah, I'm a Canadian! I would agree that most people wouldn't get the joke if their not from Canada. Although I'd have to say you sound like your from the east coast.
Tarks Gauntlet (1 year ago)
You wouldn't happen to be Canadian would you? It seems not too many people outside of my beloved True North Strong and Free get the joke haha. And Fie is definitely one of my favorites too. I pursued Alisa in both this and the sequel but Fie was my runner up! Got to see her final relationship scenes too! They're good (Y) Plus Fie has a history you just can't help but empathize with. She was in my party as often as possible.
Grime Merchant (1 year ago)
Awesome review, really makes me want to play this game...and sequel!
Tarks Gauntlet (1 year ago)
I'm just wrapping up the second one now. I moved at the end of october and spent all november setting up the new place so it took me a long time to get to it, but suffice to say the least... It's also awesome. Thanks for watching! Hopefully in the near future I can get a review for the sequel put out.
Tarks Gauntlet (1 year ago)
Hey guys! Just want to say if you like this video give it a share! It helps a lot and I'd love to see this channel grow! Also leave me a comment! I don't exactly get a lot of them so I almost always respond! Love hearing from you guys and as always, thanks for watching!
alfaucko (1 year ago)
This game and part 2 are fucking legendary
HicksZ34 (1 month ago)
alfaucko If you could only choose one, which of the two would you say is better? I plan on adding a few JRPGs to my Vita collection, but Im really settled on Odin Sphere Leifthrasir, Ys Memories of Celceta and Muramasa Rebirth (or Persona 4 Dancing All Night, still deciding on that one). I definitely want to have Legend of Heroes in that bundle, but no room for both. So for a first time player, which one should I go for?
Tarks Gauntlet (1 year ago)
I gotta get to part 2 before I start reading spoilers of it on my own video haha. I have it and I so want to play it but I'm basically fucked for time right now. Plus I had the brilliant idea of reviewing 3 horror-ish games for october so I made it even harder on myself.... But as soon as this is over I'm jumping on it.
Wyrmnus (1 year ago)
* Jaw drops at the amount of Sepith Mass * That's alot of money lol
Tarks Gauntlet (1 year ago)
+Wyrmnus I definitely made use of upgrading my weapons. More-so in the later game. I never payed too much attention to the armor but I also went through the whole game never feeling too weak for anything so you could be right. Probably balances out better on the hardest difficulty. I haven't started Trails 2 yet. Working my way through zero time dilemma, but the wait to play it is killing me.
Wyrmnus (1 year ago)
Whats more is that you could UPGRADE those weapons using U-Material. What gets me iffed is the reliability of armor. Though there is charm is the versatility of accessories you get. Even more so in TOCS2
Tarks Gauntlet (1 year ago)
This might sound kind of stupid... but for the first 2-3 chapters of the game I didn't know where to buy new weapons/armor on the school-grounds. Once I got used to the play-style of having such weak weapons I just kept rolling with it and only spent money when I absolutely needed to.
Justin Yates (1 year ago)
it's a really good game. Just got the sequel. There's supposed to be a third game it's a trilogy. try it trials in the sky one and two or is what we like to call it tits it's another great great story kind of built the same way as this one
Frit-yawf Saga (2 months ago)
Justin Yates Theirs actualy 4 games in the cold steal series
Daniel Royer (5 months ago)
'trilogy' Hah!
Tarks Gauntlet (1 year ago)
I got the sequel here. I'm dying to get to it but I gotta finish the game I'm currently working on now. The wait is killing me.
Connor Merritt (1 year ago)
Couldn't of put it better. Love this series, I hate that The Legend of Heroes series doesn't get the attention it deserves.
MtMarshi (1 year ago)
Its an absolute crime this series doesn't get the attention it deserves. Only played Trails in the sky parts one and 2. About half way through 2 but also own Cold Steel part one and intent to finish it before part two comes out. I almost feel like I should buy two copies of cold steel 2 to truly show some support! Oh and im in the UK so the series DOES have a small but passionate worldwide following.
Frit-yawf Saga (2 months ago)
MtMarshi I agree this series is one of my favorites......
Gotu Umraniya (1 year ago)
+Tarks Gauntlet india, where electronics are more expensive then gold
Tarks Gauntlet (1 year ago)
Sounds rough man. Where you living? Brazil? I know they've had it pretty rough. If possible I'd start saving for a ticket out of where your at and get somewhere where you can do your hobbies cheaper, but alas something like that is easier said than done.
Gotu Umraniya (1 year ago)
japan us and Europe may be the main markets but they are not the world, here I am, a poor person in a third world country where single game costs over 1k and a console over 40k, yet whenever possible to buy at the risk of financial crisis, I still buy games I like, and traditional jrpgs is something I like the most in gaming genres. anyways americans complain about the price of barely 60 a game, I have paid over 2k for last of us, AND THERE IS NO ARGUEMENT FOR CURRECNY CONVERSION CRAP, WHO IN AMERICA OR UK WOULD PAY OVER 2K IN THEIR CURRENCY FOR ANY GAME? gaming here is for the rich only. but since I have been gaming since 8 bits I could not help but buy whenever possible, I would so support games I like buy buying the special edition or two copies of one game in the name of back up and also to share with  future family like kids.
Xeroix (1 year ago)
just beat the game yesterday my god i cant get enough rean x alisa
Michael Guerra (5 months ago)
Xeroix Interesting I thought from the beginning Rean & Laura were soul mates.. I see Alisa with Jusis.. And Emma with Gaius for that matter.. Regardless I love all these characters and hope they are here to stay with a long running series..
Xeroix (1 year ago)
i did somehow found it on wikipedia but upon clicking it shes not listed in the game and her VA in english is Christine Marie Cabanos
Tarks Gauntlet (1 year ago)
You're right. Just looked through the credits and IMDB, I don't see her anywhere... that's messed up. If I done this job I'd be dying for a credit... maybe at the end of trails 2?
Xeroix (1 year ago)
ikr but i do wish i to know who her english dub voice was sadly no one knows
Tarks Gauntlet (1 year ago)
Yeah, shes the one I gravitated most too myself. Taking her to the flower garden towards the end was a nice touch.
brandon lee (1 year ago)
very well done. the legend of dragoon part sold me!
Tarks Gauntlet (1 year ago)
This and Legend of Dragoon are some of my all time favorite games. The two games really don't have too much in common aside from both being stellar RPG's though.
MrPikaPwnage (1 year ago)
I hate it when these RPGs force the characters onto you. I mean, I understand when the game is story-driven and heavily built by the character development, but it's a huge turn off when I just bought the game and looking around it seems that I'm forced which characters I have in the party for the entire game, more or less. I really don't understand this lack of freedom in JRPGs. Games twenty years ago were letting you make choices about which weapons the characters use and what skills they should specialize in, while today there are RPGs like this where as far as freedom is concerned you're on a roller coaster rail.
Memoria Lux (1 month ago)
lolRNG I love all the party characters, so I really won't complain about having the characters forced upon me. It's not for everyone, but this game is just down my alley.
lolRNG (1 year ago)
It's how The Legend of Heroes has always been. The first is pretty much world building, and linear, with forced parties throughout most of the game. The 2nd will come along, and opens up the world alot more. It was the same with Trails in the Sky.
Tim Horvath (1 year ago)
+Tarks Gauntlet haha yeah that may someday be something we have to deal with, I just try to go with it and trust the developers and see where it goes. Final Fantasy XII is a good example of this, the original version offered the freedom to equip all characters how you wished but then the Zodiac version ( which we will be getting with the HD re release ) has characters on a set path I believe.
Tarks Gauntlet (1 year ago)
+Tim Horvath It's a fair preference. I can't hold it against anybody. A lot of people just like the blank slates that they use as avatars so they can better put themselves in the shoes of the character experiencing the story. Different games I like different things. I still grapple with how I would feel if Link spoke (In any of the real zelda games.. none of that CD-I business haha)
Tim Horvath (1 year ago)
different games, different systems, doesn't make one better or worse just preference. I personally prefer archetypes for my characters.
Crimson Fantasy (1 year ago)
hey such a good review never beat it so I don't want spoiled check out my channel
phantom3668 (2 years ago)
well after an ending like that, how can anyone not be fired up for the sequel, even people that hated the game have no choice but to pick it up. Although rumors going around that it has more questions than answers...which i guess the 3rd game might be the cherry on top
Tarks Gauntlet (2 years ago)
+phantom3668 From what i've heard so far though, the second trails game is even better then the first. Seems so hard to be possible to me, but my body is reggie. Can't wait. The game's already fully translated according to Xseed and almost all voiced. Should be out by october or something.
Am-I-Evil (2 years ago)
great review, it came out over here in europe in jan 2016 and like yourself its my first Trails game and i loved it. Can't wait for part 2!
Tarks Gauntlet (2 years ago)
+Mage Masher I'm hearing word of a part 3 as well. If part 2 and 3 are as good (Or better as I've heard part 2 is) this could be the best RPG investment I've ever made.
Ronnie Boy (2 years ago)
great review bro. just got this game yesterday. haven't played it yet but will get to it asap.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.