HomeКомпьютерные игрыRelated VideosMore From: PushingUpRoses

UNDERTALE Review - PushingUpRoses

1676 ratings | 40768 views
Some thoughts on the indie RPG game Undertale! *Minor Spoilers* Twitter: http://twitter.com/pushinuproses Facebook: http://facebook.com/PushingUpRoses Website: http://www.PushingUpRoses.com Patreon: http://www.patreon.com/PushingUpRoses Title card by Unicornism: http://unicornism.tumblr.com Epic Game Music: http://www.youtube.com/user/xtronzzzzz
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (260)
volen frost (3 days ago)
I did pacifist and it was easy
Michaela Albury (1 month ago)
Undertale is not the only game to break the fourth wall. Doki Doki Literature Club does it to an eerie degree. You should do a review on that.
Un Bebe Chico (5 months ago)
I personally hate pacifist, the entire run is just trial and error. And the ACT system was boring and I feel like once you’ve done a simple bullet hell pattern, YOU SHOULDN’T HAVE TO DO IT FIFTEEN MORE TIMES WITHOUT EVEN PROGRESSING.
Chris Rogers (7 months ago)
Had no idea this existed until one of *those* people (aka A Troll) ranted about 'hipsters liking Undertale.' And I thought, I'm a bit too old to be a hipster, but I'm pretty much that... so let's check out Undertale. I was very charmed.
Emily Apricot (7 months ago)
I would luvvv if they released this on my iPad. I also adore the concept that you can talk or make friends with characters in the game. That is realistic (!) I already do nonviolent runs in Final Fantasy VIII. Games are ‘supposed’ to be for boys, because they usually train you to fight everything. But adventurous, atmospheric, deep, graphical, or technical games don’t have to be that wayy !!
SeaOfTides (11 months ago)
Where can I find a video review of this game *with* spoilers so I can get an understanding of what it's about and if it really is any good? I'm still able to enjoy good films that I know the twists to. If a film is bad except for the twists, then I like to find out the twists without having to see the bad film.
Cara Capybara (1 year ago)
TEMMIE FLAKES AN ORIGINAL BREAKFAST TEMMIE FLAKES IT'S SO GOOD YOU CAN'T TASTE IT TEMMIE FLAKES DON'T FORGET TO DIGEST IT TEMMIE FLAKES IN YOUR MOUTH TEMMIE FLAKES!!!!! PART OF A COMPLETE BREAKFAST.
Indigo (1 year ago)
what were you saying in the fran bow review about ten-year-olds not wanting to befriend skeletons?
Joel Bridge (1 year ago)
the game is full of metaphor and commentary and very clever forth wall breaking.
Joel Bridge (1 year ago)
very deep commentary on learned behaviors we have as a gamer
Bill Jacobs (1 year ago)
This game was funny and endearing...for about an hour. Then I got fucking bored. It should be a perfect game for me, tailor-made practically, but it's so shallow. It's comedy is tongue-in-cheek and humorous, but it rarely gets to the level of actually, legitimately FUNNY. And beyond the comedy, there's just...nothing. Nothing is particularly well done or exciting about it. It's not mentally stimulating or deep or clever or complex or anything. I seriously don't get the love of this game; even if the comedy is more your style, it's a shallow, funny title for a quick playthrough, that's nice, moving on.
Saikyo Squgly (1 year ago)
When i heard her Make a joke about flirting with moldsmal and i couldn't help but make a frown of stress and hate
LPS NutellaKitty (1 year ago)
I really wanna play it, but I'm too lazy so I just watch Dan and Phil play it.
Rojorum24 (2 years ago)
It's goat mom
AJ A (2 years ago)
steam should require a breathalyzer before purchasing games after midnight
Greg Sposato (2 years ago)
Thanks for the review.
Logan Moore (2 years ago)
How many endings are there?
Logan Moore (2 years ago)
Sans is my fave.
LiK (2 years ago)
Good review. One of my fave games of all time now.
Ninjaman (2 years ago)
I only killed one person and regretted it. I was going for the pacifist route. And now I'm on the neutral route.
Ninjaman (2 years ago)
:(
Tomas Sablan (2 years ago)
I've been on the fence about buying this game, but after watching a few of your videos aside from this one, seeing that we have similar taste in a lot of games, I'm down to give it a shot.
TerminaSavior (2 years ago)
I had remembered hearing about what the actual character's name was, but was entirely surprised by what the naming mechanic was actually meant for, and the implications it has on the story as a whole.
Iulian Dornianu (2 years ago)
go back to the kitchen
Nullatrum (2 years ago)
+PushingUpRoses Is it alright with you if I use a 1-second or so sound sample of you just saying "Undertale" from this video for a video I'm working on? I'll link your channel in the video!
Gorgo the Orc (2 years ago)
Toriel is not a cow.
CrystalHunter1989 (2 years ago)
The Pacifist ending made me cry....no game has EVER made me cry.
max kush (2 years ago)
is the child a girl or boy I cant tell
Kaitlyn Hixon (2 years ago)
They're gender-neutral.
Blake Watson (2 years ago)
Alright, I'm getting this game right now.
Coid (2 years ago)
Why Zelda, specifically Link's Awakening? I can pick up a little bit on some elements of the game's soundtrack, but beyond exploration, no real themes come to mind.
4u57inc0v3110 (2 years ago)
Oh please. Undertale doesn't do anything that Planescape: Torment didn't do better 15 years ago. Morte > Sans & Papyrus. I wouldn't be surprised to find out that Toby Fox paid all of these streamers and LPers to manufacture all the internet hype, just like most indie devs do. Lame.
Yvethomora (2 years ago)
FYI Toby used to create earthbound mods
Bonthoven Productions (2 years ago)
I don't know why but Undertale reminds me of Saints row 4?
surething baby (2 years ago)
Based on the reviews and the walkthroughs of what I've seen, I don't get Undertale.  It's neither an action RPG like Zelda or a turn-based RPG like Final Fantasy in the sense that you feel satisfaction for killing foes and leveling up.  Instead it just seems weird.  Like it's trying to take the RPG genre in a different direction.   I'm confused.  None of this is meant as a criticism- more like I don't think the game is meant for someone like me.  The humor is respectable, the storyline seems okay enough and the graphics appeal to my NES loving ways.  I'm guessing you do a fair bit of travelling so it has that going for it too.  I don't see action though which feels like an important element that's missing.
sorathecrow lastname (2 years ago)
Oh man, if you haven't seen the Pacifist route...you've got some pretty AWESOME stuff yet to see.
Deats By Doctor Bre (2 years ago)
if anything, the fan favorite is Sans, not Papyrus
Finkle (2 years ago)
I thought this game was really corny, not bad but definitely overrated
AnGEl HisPANo (2 years ago)
Games like this have been done before and there are a huge bunch of them. Because this game is new and kids havent played more games than their own age then they probably will think this is the best game ever.
AnGEl HisPANo (2 years ago)
+Alonso Dalton google.
Alonso Dalton (2 years ago)
+AnGEl HisPANo I'm genuinly curious. What games are you referring to? I'd like to think I've played quite the plethora of games in my time gaming and personally have not seen anything quite like Undertale before. I mean, the closest thing I can think of to Undertale remembering things you've done before is the Zero Escape series, and that's a more modern game. Or rather, what do you mean by "games like this"? Which particular element(s) of the game are you referring to? Like I said, I'm genuinely curious. If you can point me to more games like Undertale, it's certainly appreciated. I personally don't think it's the best game ever no, but I do currently rank it in my top 5. Others on that list including Persona 4 Golden.
Nick Wenrich (2 years ago)
Terrible game.
Interela1000 Jojo (2 years ago)
Undyne is my favourite character, shares with Papyrus though XD
Braedon Baker (2 years ago)
In the words of my friend... "you are a frickin idiot" Toriel is definitely a goat!!!!! how could you possibly think that she is a cow!!!!!
Snow Ninja (2 years ago)
WTF is this game? everyone is talking about this being an awesome JRPG? what garbage!
Kaitlyn Hixon (2 years ago)
It's not just a JRPG. The characters and story have a lot of heart and the fact that it's constantly poking at the fourth wall makes it very intriguing, so people enjoy it. Plus the soundtrack is AMAZING and really put a mood to whatever area you're in or battle you're having.
StarNugget (2 years ago)
You should share your own or your favorite theories!
Heavy Lobster (2 years ago)
"seven hours" are you retarded? this was the easiest game I've played all year.
KoolKive (2 years ago)
and a sexy wiggle to you baby *purr* lol im dead
Chrono Hellraiser (2 years ago)
*Bell rings* Roses: Wake up, Chrono! Me: Wai- What!? How can she know it's me?! 0_o Oh wait, never mind, wasn't speaking to me. xD
Garrett van de Gelder (2 years ago)
When I encountered Flowey first, I said, "Flowey! Bro! I THOUGHT WE HAD SOMETHING! YOU WEREN'T MY BRO."
couchtr26 (2 years ago)
I wasn't sure what to think and keep getting recommendations about Undertale. However, with you and LGR reviewing Undertale or at least speaking about it I think I will have to give it a try soon. Also, saw your top games of 2015 will have to pick up the Charnel House Trilogy and Fran Bow at some point. Wishing you a wonderful holiday season.
Papyrus (2 years ago)
Undertale is definitely my favorite game. I highly do reccomend playing it. It has a great story to it, slightly horror. It's honestly not scary at all in my opinion. GREAT CHARActers. Probably the best part about the game.
Papyrus (2 years ago)
Undertale is definitely my favorite game. I highly do reccomend playing it. It has a great story to it, slightly horror. It's honestly not scary at all in my opinion. GREAT CHARActers. Probably the best part about the game.
GeorgGreat (2 years ago)
Awesome review! To me, personally, this is the first indie game to challenge Braid as my #1 indie game of all time, or in other words its the best indie game of the last 7 years, imo. I must say that, even though I don't agree with it being lauded as the best PC game of all time, it is strangely satisfying for me to see other people calling it the best. It's a truly great game - it deserves such praise.
Royal Crustle (2 years ago)
This is my favorite game of 2015, meaby even my favorite game ever made! hOI! :3
hip indeed (2 years ago)
Ya, people implying it's *objectively* the best game ever, or the best PC game ever, or, perhaps, even just the best RPG or indie game are going a bit overboard. It's wildly well-reviewed by fans and critics alike, but at the end of the day it's an extremely, *extremely* subjective thing; I'm glad so many people have "gotten it" after playing it, and frankly it's more than I expected, but you really have to have a penchant, to some degree, for the sentimental and be capable of grasping the amorphous adjective known as "charm" to truly be able to appreciate this game. Not everyone can do that, and that's okay; some people really dislike this game even after trying it, and that's okay. And in many ways, especially technical ones, it's just nowhere near 'greatest ever' material (even if the 'meta' stuff is incredibly clever and well-executed). That being said, for those of us who DO "get it", who DID find the journey so much more rewarding than so many other games, who WERE able to fully grasp the sentimental and charming aspects, it becomes, on a PERSONAL level, a true contender for best game of the year, of the genre, of the platform, or even of all time, and that's okay, too. In fact, most people who "got it" to the level Rose seems to have like it a lot more than her and would instantly tout it as the best game of 2015 at the very least and not just "one of the funniest", and that's fine, too, as is her view. The thing is, it's an extremely hard game to judge on objective quality and it's really all about personal experience. I would hope that anyone who loves the game can understand and accept the people who felt badly or more lukewarm about it, and those that didn't like it at all can understand and accept the people who think it's 'best ever' tier. As for me, personally? Well, aside from the fact my Youtube avatar may have spoiled it a bit, I dearly, truly love the game -- to put it lightly. After 20 years, it defeated Chrono Trigger as my absolute favorite video game of all time. But that's just me.~ I guess that's the point I'm trying to get at, though. It's really not in the realm of "objectively the best game", but it's absolutely in the realm of "subjectively many people's favorite game, or among them".
Abndn Chnl (2 years ago)
When you think genocide run is easier than pacifist.. then you get slapped in the face with undyne the undying and sans.
jdsyke (2 years ago)
+Kamilosofe Lolzer Fucking SANS
Darck Hermit (2 years ago)
+PushingUpRoses its an indie adarling wat you expect from some hipsters afkorse they will give it beter then sex
PushingUpRoses (2 years ago)
+Kamilosofe Lolzer Yeah, the initial game play is easier. I didn't actually realize HOW bad it got but I do like the idea of the genocide route SEEMING easier to kind of mess with you, then yielding crazy consequences.
Abndn Chnl (2 years ago)
Uninstalling doesn't save you from the game remembering everything...
PushingUpRoses (2 years ago)
+Kamilosofe Lolzer Yeeeeah, I learned that the hard way. I didn't realize it went a little deeper than that. I deleted the files and I was able to restart.
Jamz Knux (2 years ago)
If you do a genocide run, you're gonna have a bad time.
Aurablasé (2 years ago)
Wait. Have you not seen all endings at the time of making this review? Because playing the game multiple times really is the full experience.
PushingUpRoses (2 years ago)
+TimeyWimeyAura Nope, not yet! I am still having fun with it. I had seen one ending at the time of making this review and as I said at the end, I plan on doing the other routes. Too bad I've messed up my pacifist run twice now.
Serah Highwind (2 years ago)
Okay real talk, I'm generally a console only kind of gamer, RPGs are my bread and butter, and I love good stories in games. I've never really been interested in any PC games until this one, could you (or anyone) recommend this game to me despite it not being the usual type of game I buy.
Malkav The Mad (2 years ago)
So flirting with a mold. So you took the naughty Lovecraft route.
Jes (2 years ago)
Your video is so good Roses, it fills me with determination!
Bp1033 (2 years ago)
I felt the exact way about it at first like 'Meh, yet another gamemaker rpg'. I'm glad that I was wrong. Its absolutely refreshing to see a game with so much time, effort and love put into it. I mean it has good music, good gameplay and good story. At most I usually see two out of three.
Roxas4ever (2 years ago)
Papyrus was the fan favorite when the game first came out, but now I only ever hear people talking about Sans. Either way, it's the skelebros XD Personally? I really like Napstablook and Undyne...and Toriel...and (spoiler)...and *keeps droning on* The way I discovered the game remembers your actions is that I accidentally killed Toriel when I first fought her, and I felt so bad that I left the game without saving. Then, when I reloaded the game and spared her, Flowey confronted me and accused me of being a murder, and claiming to know what I did. It was a very surreal moment.
SENDER NAME (2 years ago)
PushingUpRoses would you kick the shit out of Flowey if it would not mess up your pacifist run
Hambloko (2 years ago)
I COMPLETELY avoided this game for the exact same reasons that you did. So I *guess* I'll give it a shot now that you've given it praise as well.
Nostalgia Nerd (2 years ago)
Roses. You and your perfect Japanese pronunciation never fail to delight me.
Nostalgia Nerd (2 years ago)
Sounded pretty spot on to me. Although your voice is like angels to my ears, so I might be a little biased.
PushingUpRoses (2 years ago)
+Nostalgia Nerd Really? I thought I totally fucked it up, haha. Sometimes my thick Chicago accent comes in and makes me sound really egregious.
MaxineAndrew (2 years ago)
There's 7 hours of gameplay in this? I see this everywhere but I've never stuck it out past the beginning. I knew you would like this game! I couldn't pick out specific references, but it felt very adventure gamey to me too! :D Fantastic, funny review!
Little Uni (2 years ago)
+MaxineAndrew  I think it depends on how you play, there are *soo* many secrets so if you're extra thorough it can last up to around 10 hours.
Dan R (2 years ago)
I usually pronounce the word homage as "ommidge," but for some reason it sounds better when you say "oh-mazh." :) (Damn zees Franch wairds, honh honh honh.) Also, in my head, Papyrus kinda sounds like an English version of Murray.
Resulka (2 years ago)
Yvette Delacroix music is ALWAYS appropriate.
Matt Forbes (2 years ago)
Seems like a cool game but 4:3? Seriously? Why? I get the retro asthetic but intentional 4:3 in a modern game just hampers gamplay and damages tv's/monitors for no reason. Ill pass until the devs pull their heads of their asses
Matt Forbes (2 years ago)
+TheUndyingCrystal just asked for a 16:9 aspect ratio. I think you are confused as to what we are talking about.
TheUndyingCrystal (2 years ago)
One person can't be expected to make a full 3D game on their own and make it as amazing as Undertale. Even AAA devs have trouble making a good game.
Roger Wilco (2 years ago)
+Matt Forbes I think it's supposed to replicate how it would look if played on a retro hand held. Can't say it really hampered my experience, and I am not a person who even grew up on retro RPGs especially for hand helds or anything like that so I also thought it was dumb at first. You can play it in windowed mode if the black side bars concern you. It looks like PUR rendered her video in full screen (and maybe she played it in full screen) but the game actually auto plays in windowed mode when you start it up so there is no danger of damage really.
The Great Papyrus (2 years ago)
4:31 I DIDN'T KNOW I HAD SO MANY FANS!!! 4:40 WAIT WHAT? I'M NOT A VILLAIN, I'M A HERO- A VERY GOOD LOOKING HERO, BUT A HERO NONETHELESS. 5:35 GAH! WHY DO I HEAR PUNS WHEREVER I GO?
The Great Papyrus (2 years ago)
+PushingUpRoses ARE YOU SO SHOCKED THAT I THE GREAT PAPYRUS HAS A YOUTUBE ACCOUNT THAT YOU CAN NOT SPEAK?
PushingUpRoses (2 years ago)
+The Great Papyrus Oh my.
Axel Rodriguez (2 years ago)
I have now become one with Chara, and it's awesome.
Never Gonna Find Me (2 years ago)
Wtf have you become?
Dominic Tarason (2 years ago)
The talk of it being the Best Game Ever was mostly in reference to a handful of early 10/10 reviews resulting in it being ranked in the top three games of all time ever, and the highest rated PC game of all time according to Metacritic. Now, I put no stock in Metacritic or even numerical review scores to begin with, but to see Toby Fox's first ever videogame up there rubbing shoulders with the likes of Ocarina Of Time? It filled me with Determination. The game has since come down to a mere 94% average, putting it squarely among the best reviewed games of the year, although a couple points from that coveted All Time ranking. Which is good, I guess. Gives the guy something to aim for with his second project.
Caffinator (2 years ago)
I want to hear you sing again. Is that wrong?
Caffinator (2 years ago)
If game related, I would go with Still Alive. Otherwise I think Poor Unfortunate Souls would be a hoot. XD
PushingUpRoses (2 years ago)
+Caffinator Man Any requests?
bsharpmajorscale (2 years ago)
"It's actually more challenging to play the pacifist route" Guess you haven't had a bad time yet. ] :)
bsharpmajorscale (2 years ago)
The battle text threw me off at first, because I'm used to pressing a on those - leading to a few unintended attacks.
PushingUpRoses (2 years ago)
+bsharpmajorscale I fucked up my pacifist/true ending route THREE TIMES. Maybe that's why it's more challenging to me. I keep messing the fuck up.
André Cabral (2 years ago)
This game reminded me of Yumme Nikki. I think you would like Yumme Nikki too, its a very cool exploration/rpg game that looks like earthbound too.
Awakeandalive1 (2 years ago)
Note to self: Make Steam games targeted at Roses; wait till Roses gets drunk; become millionaire!
PushingUpRoses (2 years ago)
+Awakeandalive1 This is basically the best way to get rich.
exiledPostman (2 years ago)
I think the thing I liked most about this game was how it got me really attached to the characters. Toriel was sweet and loving, Sans was a hyper competent genius slacker, Papyrus was this overconfident dork who is like a villain but not, Undyne was like every anime hero rolled into one, and Alphys was sort of like a caricature of fans of the game in general. Even the bosses and regular monsters all had a personality and none of them were outright evil, even Flowey. If you play a pure pacifist run, you start to learn about yourself and really develop a sense of empathy. I really like this one quote: " There are a lot of Floweys out there, and not everything can be resolved by just being nice."
Francisco Fuentes (2 years ago)
I love the game though! Since I'm not a big fan of many turn base RPGs that don't have action commands or have a long and serious story to it. This game meets all my standards
Francisco Fuentes (2 years ago)
like without wiki's you wouldn't know if you're doing a true pacifist run or genocide run right and the only hint they give you is flowery
The New Weahtly (2 years ago)
In one of the endings, it is told to you that Toriel had one worn a piece of clothing that resulted in a misunderstanding of her thinking that she was being called a cow(due to the name), resulting in her never wearing it again. So the fact that you called her a cow is...well...i may know quite a bit about video games but i don't always know what word is the best to use.
Armed Astronaut JM-83 (2 years ago)
01001111 01101000 00100000 01010000 01010101 01010011 01001000 01001001 00100000 01010010 01001111 01010011 01000101 00100000 01111001 01101111 01110101 00100111 01110010 01100101 00100000 01110011 01101111 00100000 01100101 01101110 01101010 01101111 01111001 01100001 01100010 01101100 01100101 00100000 01100001 01101110 01100100 00100000 01100001 01110111 01100101 01110011 01101111 01101101 01100101 00100000 01101100 01101111 01110110 01100101 00100000 01111001 01101111 01110101 01110010 00100000 01110100 01100001 01110011 01110100 01100101 00100000 01100001 01101110 01100100 00100000 01101100 01101111 01101111 01101011 01110011 00101110 00100000 01000001 01110111 01100101 01110011 01101111 01101101 01100101 00100000 01110110 01101001 01100100 01100101 01101111 01110011 00100000 01100001 01110011 00100000 01110111 01100101 01101100 01101100 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01111001 00100000 01101101 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101101 01111001 00100000 01100100 01100001 01111001 00101110
Carter Herrigstad (2 years ago)
and what's that mean?
CaptainRufus (2 years ago)
At least PUR buys too much drunk. I do it sober. :/
FanfareT.Loudest (2 years ago)
Great review PushingUpRoses!
Devin Craig (2 years ago)
FUN FACT: Napstablook's name is a pun! He loves music, he's a NAPSTER BLOKE!
Zat (2 years ago)
"You play as a child who goes unnamed for the majority of the game." YUP NO SPOILERS THERE :/
Roger Wilco (2 years ago)
+Zat If it helps, I just want to say that I have never played this game, no nothing about it, and I have no idea why that could even be a spoiler. Now I am just confused. I wanted to second Roses' notion though, it really didn't mean anything to me, and even after reading this thread I STILL have no idea what the twist is.
PushingUpRoses (2 years ago)
+Zat In turn, I apologize for getting salty. I tend to get very salty and go on huge tangents.
PushingUpRoses (2 years ago)
+Zat Except You can only know this unless you have already played the game; People who haven't played it don't know what any of that even means and don't give it a second thought. In fact, I have a "control group" I show this too before it goes public on YouTube and nobody gave it a second thought because it could have meant anything. RPGs typically allow you to name a character that already have one given to you by the author. Link from the Zelda series is a good example. It doesn't really mean much if you think about it; all it really means is that the author of the game already has a name for the character. I think your hindsight might be turning it into a bigger smudge than it is. I do appreciate your apology - I ain't mad or anything. I just honestly don't see it as a critical point and really do think it's fine. :) Every review just by nature will have some spoilers; I am blatantly showing you the game and explaining the characters, things you would also not see unless you played it. I do however keep out really critical spoilers and steered clear of showing any of the endings or hard hitting character twists. I think those are the best things about this game and I think people will love discovering them on their own.
Zat (2 years ago)
+PushingUpRoses Ok I over reacted a bit. (SPOILERS) Keep in mind people think they do know the name of the character. knowing that you don't really puts everything flowey says to "you" in a different light, because if your character is unnamed then who exactly is flowey talking to? Makes things a lot easier to guess at :/ I guess my point is that it easily could have gone unsaid, without hurting the review at all. Why say it in a review that is trying not to be spoilery? You could have just said something like "you play as a little child, who wakes up in the underground " without hurting your review at all. I'm sorry sorry if I came off harsh :/ I just thought it was a smudge on what amounts to a very solid review.
Maximilion Pegasus (2 years ago)
+Zat its one of those things where, sure, you don't know your character isn't called what you named them at the start for most the game, but it is hardly the biggest "reveal". Like, if that was one of the few of the things you knew before starting undertale for the first time, it really wouldn't change any part of the game, how you interpret the story until it is revealed anyway.
maugos (2 years ago)
Yay! Even Roses likes Undertale! This is seriously one of my favorite games now simply due to the incredible thought put into it. Like you said, literally everything you do is recorded whether you have saved or not. My favorite thing to do is actually do resets and see how certain characters react to me now that I know what's going to happen. Flowey is certainly judgmental that's for sure. ;) Anyway, my favorite character is Mettaton. There's just something that resonated with me towards him. So totally gonna cosplay him this year. lol
aceotaku (2 years ago)
+maugos XD
maugos (2 years ago)
+aceotaku Mettaton EX, of course. Only he is as fabulous as I. lol
aceotaku (2 years ago)
+maugos ah but which mettaton to cosplay: mettaton, Mettaton EX or Mettaton NEO
Dutchtica (2 years ago)
Hah, love the Chrono Trigger bit, I personally got "Secret of Mana" but I suppose the two are close enough to have the same kind of vibe to it.
invghost (2 years ago)
The sad ghost reminded me so much of Marvin from HHGTTG
Zidders Roofurry (1 year ago)
I can't help feeling like Douglas Adams would have gotten a chuckle out of that description.
invghost (2 years ago)
Hitchikers Guide To The Galaxy. And Lol :P
Little Uni (2 years ago)
+invghost  I have no idea what HHGTTG is so to me you just had two very violent sneezes and tried to spell them
exiledPostman (2 years ago)
+invghost You know, I always hear him talk in a sleepy low pitched English accent.
Mikan Tsumiki (2 years ago)
Roses, this is a wonderful review. I agree with you on the "best pc game ever" comment. Honestly i think the "best" in anything really depends on the person claiming so. I'm glad you enjoyed this game as much as I did. I have only seen the pacifist run (my boyfriend was streaming the game for me, since we live far apart and we like to play games together) but I bought the game and I plan to do a playthrough of the other endings as well.
Lotus Prince (2 years ago)
Gotta love skeleton humor. I'm reminded of Skullmageddon from Double Dragon Neon. "Time to make my...MARROW escape! BONE VOYAGE!"
Lotus Prince (2 years ago)
+aceotaku That's true, as the whole game was an 80's throwback, but those puns were just so delightfully bad. :)
aceotaku (2 years ago)
+Lotus Prince skullmageddon was basically skeletor though, though way more meta-humoured
generalcoon47 (2 years ago)
You should review Avoid the Noid for DOS and Commodore 64.
Slikviq (2 years ago)
This is the only videogame to ever make me shed a tear, the story was just that good.
bar barian (2 years ago)
This looks hilarious, great review Roses.
Jackie C. (2 years ago)
So happy to see you review this, especially knowing that you enjoyed it! ^_^
Angel-chan (2 years ago)
I would LOVE to see you do a Let's Play of Undertale! :D
rollingwolfang77 (2 years ago)
I looooove this game and it's amazing soundtrack!
rollingwolfang77 (2 years ago)
And the community is making some really freaking awesome covers of them :D
PushingUpRoses (2 years ago)
+rollingwolfang77 Yeah, the soundtrack is lovely. I initially thought it was a little expensive but then I bought it and it had something like 100 songs on it.
spookanide (2 years ago)
You have to play it to believe it! Good review and I too laughed at just about every single line of text. I'm pretty sure this game is in my personal top 10.
SpitefulCrow (2 years ago)
Now I want to see a video of PUR drunk and buying Steam games.
King Harkinian (2 years ago)
Pff, more like BLUNDERTALE!
itsavgbltpta (2 years ago)
I also just recently gave this game a chance after seeing so much love for it on twitter. It did not disappoint. I love turn-based RPGs with alternative style battle systems. And despite thinking I wouldn't dig the aesthetics of Undertale, it really does grow on you. Delightful review! :)
Akariakaza 13 (2 years ago)
Burgerpants is pretty great.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.