HomeКомпьютерные игрыRelated VideosMore From: DreamcastGuy

Final Fantasy IX Review! Worth the Price? (PS4 Version)

2582 ratings | 189008 views
One of the BEST Final Fantasy games ever is back and with great new graphics, some cheat codes, and a new save system. Does that make it worth buying again though? Find out in my full review! Share and subscribe if you liked it! Consider supporting the show on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/DreamcastGuy Follow me on social media: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dreamcastguy Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/dreamcastguy Instagram: http://instagram.com/dreamcastguy Business email: [email protected] All clips of audio and video used in this work are used for entertainment or education purposes under the fair use clause. If you have any dispute please contact me. "EDM Detection Mode" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3. Final Fantasy IX (ファイナルファンタジーIX Fainaru Fantajī Nain) is a role-playing video game developed and published by Square for the PlayStation video game console. Originally released in 2000, it is the ninth title in the Final Fantasy series and last to debut on the original PlayStation console. In 2010, it was re-released as a PSone Classics title on the PlayStation Network. The game introduced new features to the series like the "Active Time Event", "Mognet", and a unique equipment and skill system. Final Fantasy IX's plot at first centers on a war between nations in a medieval fantasy world called Gaia. Players follow bandit Zidane Tribal after the thief troupe to which he belongs is hired to kidnap Garnet Til Alexandros XVII, the princess of Alexandria. He goes on to team up with Garnet and a growing cast of characters on a quest to take down Queen Brahne of Alexandria, the one responsible for starting the war. The plot shifts, however, when it is revealed that Brahne was only working alongside a much more menacing threat, Kuja, who shares a mysterious history with Zidane spanning two worlds. Final Fantasy IX was developed alongside Final Fantasy VIII, but took a different approach by returning to the more traditional style of the early Final Fantasy games. Consequently, Final Fantasy IX was influenced significantly by the original Final Fantasy game, and features allusions to other titles in the series. It was released to critical acclaim and holds the highest Metacritic score of all Final Fantasy installments. Final Fantasy IX was commercially successful, selling over five million units worldwide by March 2003. Ports for iOS and Android were released in February 2016, while a port for Microsoft Windows was released in April 2016.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (955)
DreamcastGuy (11 months ago)
Hey, seriously thank you all for watching. The fact that I get to talk about Final Fantasy as a job is still mind blowing to me and this is all because of YOU amazing people. I owe you everything! <3
Timothy Ortiz (10 months ago)
More people died in FF13-2 because (Spoiler Alert) Caius destroys an entire universe. Never forget
Ghostly Winds (11 months ago)
DreamcastGuy i love how they remade the games yet price wise i dunno I'd have the price a bit lower... PS1 wise it was around 10+ bucks and it was reasonable 5bucks pretty decent but ps4 for 20 bucks hmmm they should reduce it a bit
JuanchoGamerCOL (11 months ago)
Hey greetings from Colombia. I like your channel. I am FFanatic. Thank you for your videos
omegagilgamesh (11 months ago)
Never heard of you before stumbling on this review. I'll look at your other content as well, but geez, "DreamcastGuy?" That seriously jinxing yourself dude. You'll become the much beloved channel that made too few videos and quietly died with a whimper.
Kitsusagi (7 days ago)
Ff7, brought to ps4. Ff9 brought to ps4. Where is my favorite one? Ff8? They do know that there’s a number between 7 and 9 right?
Sage Pirotess (19 days ago)
Bad review. Here i wanted to know what ff i should play. Not that most my players die. Spoilers.
bobby boucher (25 days ago)
Hi dreamcastguy, im Tigergamesguy :p
Michael Coffey (26 days ago)
Final Fantasy 9 was in my top 2 or 3 of the FF series, so I was happy to hear this was getting done. Thank you for showcasing this and of course giving your views on it.
anthony (1 month ago)
FFIX = priceless
Richard Gray (1 month ago)
The cheats ruin the game. Just give us fucking 3x speed and leave the rest out please....seriously....
Nick Howe (1 month ago)
"A 9...point 5...out of 10."
Dave Thongsa (1 month ago)
Im definitely picking this version up! I couldn’t get a chance to beat the game because the last disc were all scratched up on the PS1 (there were 4 disc to this game on the PS1) so I never got the chance to finish it.
Jorge Perez (1 month ago)
Its only 20 dollars lol
Khato (1 month ago)
But with 9999 u gain 0xp
Renza Lightning (1 month ago)
Biggest problem for me is the buggy sound effects. If you compare the original ps1 port to this one, the sounds are not as nostalgic. I killed the plant brain recently but the sound it makes after the killing blow was bugged out so it wasn't as epic. Even the sound of the characters doing basic physical attacks is disappointing. I know I'm being highly critical but eh, just my thought.
alvin081988 (1 month ago)
That 1000 jump ropes will be frustrating if you want to get Platinum trophy
Tracyn (2 months ago)
There was a sale on winter and I got it for like 9 bucks I believe ? Totally worth it
darius lee (2 months ago)
is this only on ps store or something
Webster Thomas (2 months ago)
This is the best Final Fantasy Game of all time! I wish they remake it with Voice Actors but with the same Gameplay
Kers A HerpaFuqer (2 months ago)
Best Final Fantasy with Trophies and Vivi in HD? /)*0*(\ TAKE MY MONEYYYY
zahir hashim (2 months ago)
Ever did a Christopher walker impression?i think you would nail it if you did.
nelson a (2 months ago)
Thank God I have my multi game shark on my android emulator ;)
Firefly (2 months ago)
it looks the same with the original but no problem it fixing the graphics. the cheats is unnecessary though
Zinger3 (2 months ago)
Your voice sounds like you are a robot troll from the future who's trying to stay happy while going through a mid life crisis.
Always the Mage (2 months ago)
I like both the update/port and the video, but one thing really tickled me: you say you can fast - forward through content and give yourself infinite health and max damage - but it's never too easy. How could it possibly be easier? You can't actually lose! No shade though, I found it funny.
Game Drop (3 months ago)
bought this tonight so excited to finally play this title :D
Setsuna F. Seiei (3 months ago)
I give this port a 0 out of 10 but the original game 10 out of 10 (it's my favorite game ever). The high quality character models and low quality pre-rendered backgrounds don't mesh well and it shatters the illusion of pre-rendered backgrounds. Now it looks like the characters are standing over a flat 2D image. Resident Evil Origins Collection is a proper remaster with redrawn backgrounds. If Capcom can do it, so can Square Enix.
thunderchild1083 (3 months ago)
I don’t understand why they’ve added the cheats to this, the only thing I use is the speed up option for when I’m grinding my levels. The jump rope achievement is impossible my record is 56 in a row and that took me about a million tries
liferuin (3 months ago)
why are you making weird moans at the end of a lot of sentences..
Kevin Swift (3 months ago)
Dude that was such like a fair and balanced and professional review, without falling into the realm of TOO neutral/distant. I don't know. Your enthusiasm was palpable without going overboard or clumsy. I enjoyed the straight-faced nature of the review but it was really cool to hear some of your personal thoughts and feelings at the end. IDK dude. That was cool. Thanks.
JunDa? (4 months ago)
i wish https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L-xvMsEw3LE same likes this!
Cricket101382 (4 months ago)
"More people die then in any other entry" The hell are you talking about? The majority of the entire world was killed in Final Fantasy 6.
S. (4 months ago)
i have the PS1 vers. I'd rather play that.
Logic Seeker (4 months ago)
The true best game of all time.
YoRocky (4 months ago)
FF9 will always hold a special place in my heart. I started playing this game in my teens years, it wasn't the best time of my life, but this game, and the characters helped more than you know. I grew quite attached to them, and to this day I consider it one of my all time favorite games!
pianoman021 (4 months ago)
For better or worse, there's no reason for Square Enix to make a Final Fantasy compilation, because people will still buy them separately at a premium even after all these years.
Quick-Sword Ilena (4 months ago)
There is no price too expensive for a final fantasy game tbh
Unterhosen Jack (4 months ago)
I've played it back in 2001 or sth. on PS1/2. I give it another shot I guess! =) 7,8,9 was my FAVORITES. After FFX I stopped playing the series!
H4rdCor3 (4 months ago)
The sound effects are worse here btw
MLisLife (4 months ago)
FF games especially FF IX is the only game that Made me tears in the end of the story. Beautiful story and the characters are really strong so that u think they are really exist, and also the Ost. are epic and really touch the deepest part of my heart. FF IX is not just a game, but it is an art. No matter how many years passed since i played this game, this game is always has a special place in my heart.
Jacen Solo (4 months ago)
It's better on Android
D Rob (4 months ago)
FF9 is the best Final Fantasy to ever be released in my opinion
Ferry (4 months ago)
I hate the letters xD. Its so bland. Its like the game was written in word. Too bland
bima imam (4 months ago)
still better remaster than darksoul
ZyPhReX (5 months ago)
I really hope this gets a physical copy on the PS4. Still though, great revamp. Thx for the review.
FATBOYALLSTARS (5 months ago)
Fucking awful menu for battles.
_drewmac _ (5 months ago)
9 is so amazing! The one that stuck with me the longest!
bobby boucher (5 months ago)
and very bad idiea to put all the FF'S on one disc just remake them and sale for 5$ each they already made the money , its like a dlc lol
bobby boucher (5 months ago)
juste crack it on google very easy its not worth a fourth lunch price
bobby boucher (5 months ago)
the only thing that they had to change is the steal comand and does not take 30 tries to steal from enemies.
Orions Reach (5 months ago)
This was my favorite Final Fantasy. I wish the original HD artwork had been saved though. https://www.neogaf.com/threads/the-lost-art-of-final-fantasy-ix-mama-robotnik-research-thread.551612/ . I am still hoping for a FF9 remake after 7, if that game sells well it might create incentive to continue! Now I just need a Legends of Dragoon remake and I'll die a happy man :)
The Guitar Saiyan (5 months ago)
holy fuck... using those cheats.. are.... bullshit!!! always
Isaac Rahman (5 months ago)
Worth every cent. I'll keep rebuying FF7, 8, & 9 as long as they keep re-releasing them.
spybloom (5 months ago)
No way Square Enix is charging too much for a port I don't believe this whatttt
Teal'c (5 months ago)
Did they fix the card game?
adam hagerty (6 months ago)
I hated the idea of cheating through this game,much preferred going through all field battles to level up. I will never get bored of this game. I still have it on my ps3,will never delete
BMO72093 (6 months ago)
They should do digital collections.even if they did it where each set had 3-4 games in it. I would love having 7,8,9 all in one disc/or application.
yuuki terumi (6 months ago)
On one side people are screaming for great remasters and want alot of care and effort...but..then they seem to get awfully stingy even if their demands are met..sure its more expensive than the simple port but hey..its not like they just made this in 5 minutes and only had 1 employee working at it..tbh i think we should be happy it isnt 50 bucks and that we can enjoy such a well made remake
Minako Hiashi (6 months ago)
I love Final Fantasy 9 and all but if you got the PlayStation 3 you can get the game for $6. The PlayStation 4 $20 version is a rip off. It should not be the same price as Final Fantasy X and X-2 remastered that is at least 2 games
Tigerspaz (6 months ago)
Just got it for ps4 today for 12 bucks
milliardo Lovecraft (6 months ago)
One of my best childhood games
LINK 7707 (6 months ago)
FF9 yup I am going to say it lol I need this on my Switch now lol this would be so cool , I love FF9 but I never finished the last battle my disc would freeze all the time ....
Tim Raulerson (6 months ago)
I wish they could have made this game good.
IIGrayfoxII (6 months ago)
So it is not a proper remake from scratch but a port from the lack luster PC version. I have the PC version and it has only slightly improved graphics This image proves my point. They have a story, the know what things should look like. https://i.ytimg.com/vi/3Iz420lJ49E/maxresdefault.jpg it is not like making FFVIXD or what ever they are at now where they need a new story, to come up with a world and have ideas based on it. They just need to sit down, and remake every asset from the ground up Most of the work was done back in the 90s.
Blake Gonzales (6 months ago)
Look I’m just happy it doesn’t take 4 disk to play now lol nothing’s worse than skipping during a cutscene and having to swap out disk for hrs in hopes of making it through so you could keep playing. I can tell you I’m pretty dedicated
Synthetic Teapot (6 months ago)
In short... yes. This game is worth it. It's amazing.
Chris P (6 months ago)
Its $32 in Australia 😣
Lance Lovecraft (6 months ago)
I was wondering why all the FFIX footage i had been seeing looked so good. I got it on the PS3 and even when I transferred it to my psp the details in backgrounds were difficult to see. Everything but the menu looks great. IX is the most understated game in the series
hawjsta (6 months ago)
The first Final Fantasy game i played and it was awesome...
AltosForteAqua x (6 months ago)
Xenogears deserves this treatment.
SorrowsHeelTurn (6 months ago)
Why don't you mention any of the sound and music bugs that ruin the atmosphere of this game (the same issue FF7 PS4 had)
Owen Polley (6 months ago)
It's not worth the price. That's why I bought it as soon as I saw it. Edit: also I know this is a lost battle but I wish the vita got this as well. Square Enid seems to be one of the few aaa publishers still greenlighting vita games from time to time. If not the only
Gwynn Jason Arevalo (7 months ago)
i have this on my ipad.
SullySadface (7 months ago)
I only use the master ability cheat. Too much grind/artificial difficulty in my opinion. Also the 3x speed is amazing.
PunkFiddler (7 months ago)
Played 7, 8, and 9 on the psx, the first 3 ffs that got the 3d treatment, and i must say that 9 has got to be the best of that era... not only on graphics, but so does the story and pacing. Given the opportunity, i will replay 9, again. The other 2... well they're not bad per se but... they didn't strike me that much as 9 did.
rumble131 (7 months ago)
The UI is so ugly!
aronomics (7 months ago)
Hope they give us FF8 this year.
Dominique Mompil (7 months ago)
The best FF games of all times, this game holds a very scpecial place in my heart..
Little Bits (7 months ago)
Couldn't agree more about the menu.
Robbie Gable (7 months ago)
Quick answer, "Yes it is worth it."
Tarheelheat (7 months ago)
Seriously, why don't they do a FFX remake? The BEST FF ever!!!!!
BrutalSax (5 months ago)
It really doesn't need a remake. Graphics still hold up pretty well.
James T. (8 months ago)
I fucking HATE Sony mofos, can't play the games I've bought on PS4
JD Cantu (8 months ago)
They did make a giant box release of many Final Fantasy games. Sadly it's only for PC and I think for Japan only. Could be here
Hyper Drew (8 months ago)
So you mean I can beat OZMA unfazed?
Carlos Grimaldi (8 months ago)
Great Game, but this port is just awfull, it doesnt do it justice, hope they fix this. it got a lot of bugs : for example the laggy menues
Canniball S (9 months ago)
Zidan three ballz
JEREMY GENTRY (9 months ago)
just got $20 bucks for holidays so im sold on this THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
CHRISTOPHER PEREZ (9 months ago)
Is this a remake?
Samsul Afrizal (9 months ago)
My first game that could make me crying, laughing and add another colors of my days. From that era no game could give me this sensation. Even I named my computer shop and still put her pics for accompany me always. Hoping have friend feel the same way
Bruno Rezende (9 months ago)
Yeah, 5 dollar on the PS3 re-release, but it looks like shit running on the PS3, that's worth mentioning... For me it's was unplayable and wasted money.
konimaru02 (9 months ago)
Also I hope they release Chrono Cross.I love that game as a kid so much.
Jeremiah Hix (9 months ago)
wow the graphics update actually looks really freaking nice :D
Zach Russ (9 months ago)
TL;DW Still bought it Awwwwww yea
Vegesther (10 months ago)
It is worth it as long as you turn ON the 3x speed cheat else the game is just as crappy and slow as the original PS1 version.
Astral Bear (10 months ago)
If youre unwhilling to buy a game with 50+ for $20 its not worth buying. If its one of the best rpgs ever made its worth $20. Wtf is wrong with you lol.
Anthony Key (10 months ago)
My favourite ff even though i love 6 and 7 this has always been the best for me and love the characters to this day
Kyle Green (10 months ago)
ok where is my ff8 ...?? hurry up square
ABaumstumpf (10 months ago)
So they made the game slightly easier, than added a punch of cheats, and then added even more cheat-modes...... to a game that wasn't hard to begin with.
Jebus The gamer Nerd (10 months ago)
i just bought it on ps4 yesterday (had to it was by far the best one and for the tos of the game as well)
Luis Antonio Laracuente (10 months ago)
A little overenthusiastic... I like FF like any other fan but seriously... That the remaster makes you see the character emotions better? So cheesy... Enjoy the 20 dollar rip off, because nothing is more profitable than nostalgia.
ICEE1025 (10 months ago)
The boosters will be good if you plan on streaming (except maybe the gil one). Most of the tireless grinding in the game is spent on AP anyway. Who really cares about trophies that much.
Jayjay Myers (10 months ago)
Ff9 and 8 are my fav games
Myfour Biddeninja (10 months ago)
I just got the jump rope trophy last night!!! Secret 2 my success is turn the music off and keep sound effects on lesrn the counts 1 to 20 slow 20 to 50 fast 50 to 100 faster and so on it sounds crazy but if u learn to do it with your eyes closed and use the sound its waaaay easier then again i have played drums and guitar my whole life so i csn keep a tempo, hope that helps someone.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.